General
Information
The National Cheng
Kung University Library was established in 1931 at the present site
of the Physics Department Building on the Cheng Kung Campus. In order
to keep pace with school development and respond to demands, the library
was relocated to the Sheng Li Campus in 1959, occupying a total area
of 9,000 square meters. It was the most modern library in Taiwan at
that time. However, because of the expansion of the university and four
decades of heavy usage, the library was facing a space shortage and
the aging of equipment. In order to provide better library services,
the university started a new library building project in 1989. Following
years of planning and construction, the new library was inaugurated
in 2001 at its present location on Cheng Kung Campus. In the library,
there are eight floors with over 35,000 square meters of floor space,
providing 2,146 seats, conference rooms for meetings and seminars, areas
for group study, and 16 study carrels. A computer lab with 63 seats
is available for training sessions. Audio-visual materials, both educational
and recreational, are available for use in specially equipped facilities
at the Media Center. Music listening area provides good music programs
for relaxation. An art gallery with over 300 square meters often provides
art and literature exhibitions.
As an integral component of the academic programs,
the library supports the university's teaching and research in a variety
of subjects. To follow the rapid development of the university, a corresponding
rate of growth in the library’s collection was required. The library
has a collection of more than 1,800,000 volumes of books and bound periodicals,
as well as a sizable collection of electronic and non-print materials.
The Library Information System is accessible from every part of the
campus. Through the Library Information System, users are able to consult
a broad range of bibliographic and full-text information as well as
to search databases.
The library has experienced librarians to assist
patrons in a variety of ways, ranging from the selection, acquisition,
and cataloging of materials, providing assistance in using the collection,
online services to interlibrary loans. All the members of library wish
to help every user become familiar with the user-friendly environment
and discover the wealth of knowledge.